Image: Korin

prepared food cross section_1

6 thoughts on “Image: Korin

  1. This is very interesting, and very clear! I love the simple, yet informational graphics that I find few things to suggest. Tinny things would be moving the arrow heads farther from the boxes. I would reduce the size of “affordable…” so that it reads as a subtitle (gray color as in the prices). The price numbers under the street location are the most useful. My first question was about what was happening with the two locations bellow. Are they meant to go above with the others. Finally, It would be nice to see the streets on a map. What about adding a small interval map bellow more or less “a la tufte”? I have thought it could be your CD3 outline highlighting the street the place is at. The simpler this may be the better since your diagram is effectively clear already. Thank you for your attention.

    • I like your suggestion about wanting to see the streets on a map, Rodrigo. I think that would help to situate listings in context.

  2. Hey Korin, I think that this is actually a pretty useful graphic – it could be used as a guidebook for the area if you expanded it to include more entries. I think what I would want to know, though, if I was going to use it that way, is if we are actually comparing similar items or similar portions in this size comparison. Are we really talking about a full meal for $3-$5 on Chrystie St? Actually, I would love to see a diagram like this that compared the exact same (or very similar) items in different areas. For example, there might be a really high end place on Ludlow street that sold a serving of pork and chive dumplings for $17, the same thing that you can get for $1.25 on Eldridge St. In fact, I might want to make this graphic about my own neighborhood!

    • Great point, Sonja. What does the price listed buy you? Is it the same type of thing at each of the establishments listed? The prices only really seem comparable if we’re comparing like items.

      I also wonder if the price listed an average for the entirety of each street (within the Census tract)? It reads like you’re using one establishment to represent the habits of the entire street. And further, what are the definitions of ‘affordable’ and ‘high end’? Are they absolute? Relative to some measure? Median income for the neighborhood?

  3. It is a interesting graphic that is better as matrix or seceral of the out liners in the streets to be shown.. I am a bit confused about howbthw bottom was dine considering the price range for both are reversed. This is useful for tourists and people not knowing the area where to eat.

  4. Korin, you’ve produced two diagrams for this assignment: a very successful matrix and a more problematic continuum.

    On the continuum diagram, in addition to my notes above, I’m not sure what I’m supposed to glean from this diagram. That there are a range of prepared food options in the neighborhood all along the affordability spectrum? Isn’t that true everywhere? Maybe this diagram could tell me how many of each of set of types of prepared foods purveyors there are in the tract—i.e., how many dumpling shops there are, and these fit in this type of price range, and how many cafes, and these fit in this price range, etc. I think I need some more analysis in this diagram for it to justify itself.

    I like the instinct you showed in your first sketch of the continuum diagram—actually arraying the cross streets along Canal and using Canal as the axis for continuum—though I see why you didn’t use that—not a clear enough gradient. Still, good thought.

    On the matrix: though it is pretty clear what your matrix is trying to communicate, it still needs a headline. Your iconography is clear and communicative. As Rodrigo notes, it would benefit from a key map to situate where all these streets are.

    Finally, your photos feel a little crammed together. I wonder if you could make your grid lines white, and a little thicker, and then lay a light gray background behind your table (which is also my suggestion on your maps)

Leave a Reply

